Thursday, January 11, 2018

*TBT Review*
"The Soul's Mark: FOUND" by Ashley Stoyanoff!


Hiya peeps! As if I'm not reviewing enough already, I'm going back to doing TBT Reviews! These posts are for books I've reviewed in years past, but want to re-visit, because you may like it!

Check out this book I originally reviewed/published on October 9th, 2013.

The Soul's Mark: Found

~Author: Ashley Stoyanoff

~ReleasedJuly 20, 2012

~Length274 Pages

~GenresYoung Adult, New Adult Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance


Anxious to leave her destructive past behind, Amelia Caldwell moves to Willowberg, excited for a fresh start. Once there, she discovers that her birthmark is more than it seems. She has been marked by a vampire's soul. Not only does she hold his soul, but Amelia is also his soulmate.

After almost a century of searching for his soulmate, Mitchell Lang fears the worst—he is going to lose Amelia to another man. His heart takes over, and his impulsive decision to take away her free will and to intensify their bond quickly turns her growing love into hate.

When they become trapped in the emotional rollercoaster of their souls' bond, open conflict erupts. Amelia has no intentions of belonging to anyone, not even her soulmate, and Mitchell refuses to let her go.

While she frantically searches for a way to escape his grasp, Amelia unlocks the painful memories of her past and uncovers a powerful secret. But before she has a chance to explore her newfound edge, she finds herself caught in the middle of a deadly game of revenge and is forced to realize that YOU CANNOT RUN FROM DESTINY.

Saturday, January 6, 2018

"State of Emergency" by Mary Hallberg!

Hiya guys and dolls! New review today, perfect for zombie and horror fans! It's a fairly new release, but seems to be a fan favorite already! Check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below!

State of Emergency

 State of Emergency
~Author: Mary Hallberg

~Released: September 26th 2017

~Length: 158 Pages

~Genres: Horror, Suspense, Young Adult


17-year-old Dallas Langdon is fighting off zombies with a pizza cutter.

Dallas has always loved zombie movies. But when she catches a real live (erm, dead) musician eating a man’s intestines backstage after the show, she knows her movies have become a reality. And what do characters in zombie movies do? Seek shelter. Fortunately, Dallas's eccentric uncle owns a farmhouse in Chattanooga, an eight hour drive from New Orleans. It’s on top of a steep mountain, surrounded by electric fences, and cut off from the worlds of the living and the dead.

Dallas’s parents, still safe at home, laugh at her idea over the phone. Her friends only agree to join her because it’s fall break and they could use a mini vacation anyway.

But then Dallas’s best friend is killed by a zombie horde when they’re attracted to her ringing cell phone. Civilians think their reanimated loved ones simply have the flu, leaving them alive (well, undead) and rapidly increasing the zombies ranks. And since minors can’t buy guns, Dallas’s only weapon is a giant industrial pizza cutter she swipes from a gas station. George A. Romero never mentioned anything like this. With one friend dead and no zombie survival guides to help her, Dallas and her friends must get to Chattanooga before joining the ranks of the undead themselves.


Wednesday, January 3, 2018

"Frost Legacy" by Jessica Reed!

Hiya guys and dolls! Check out this new paranormal adventure, filled with shape-shifting werewolves, fae, magic, and danger.

Frost Legacy
The Inheritance

 Frost Legacy
~Author: Jessica Reed

~Released: October 23rd, 2017

~Length: 285 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal


How do you fight fate? Her options are disappearing and her resolve is waning. Will she continue to fight until the end even when all seems hopeless? Will she succumb to the evil of the world because it’s easier or will she be the light people need her to be? 

Orphaned at the age of five when her parents were tragically murdered, Kitra Frost thought she had faced her hardest parts of her life with their deaths and finding out she was a Dire Wolf shifter. She never knew her toughest battle would find her when old wounds were finally healing. 

Secrets kept hidden from her mask a power the world has never seen. She’s not safe anymore and someone is coming for her. 

Receiving help from some new friends and a group of extremely dangerous and handsome Rangers from the Dire Wolf pack, she knows what has to be done. 

Together, they would take on the worst enemy the Supernatural community had ever faced. 

Her name is Kitra Frost. She's the key and the gate will not be opened. 

Friday, December 29, 2017

Goodbye 2017!!

Hiya peeps!


Can you believe we're about to start a new year? I sure can't!


I don't know about the rest of you, but this year has been crazy! I've had my share of adventures, and am both excited and nervous to see what next year holds. I'm going to focus on the excited part though - much more fun that way. ;)


Desert Rose Reviews has come back stronger than ever, and I'm loving it! We reviewed over 80 books this year alone, with the majority of those being in the second half of the year. I'm hoping to have more than a hundred reviewed in 2018, and can't wait to read some of the amazing books we've already got scheduled!


I've got some big plans in store for this blog, as well as some other businesses and projects I'll be introducing to you guys next year, and I'd love it if you'll join me for another year of book love and fun!


Thanks to everyone who's followed me this far, and I hope you have a fantastic 2018! Let's send 2017 off with some good vibes, spread some joy and love, and go into this next year with smiles!


Wishing you all well!

Cheers!

~Rose & Ken
@Desert Rose Reviews



Thursday, December 28, 2017

"Shattered Roses" by E.L. Parfitt!

Hiya peeps! Fairy-Tale Retelling today, for Beauty and the Beast! Check it out, and be sure to let me know your favorite retellings in the comments - I could use more recommendations! =D

Shattered Roses

 Shattered Roses
~Author: E.L. Parfitt

~Released: April 24th 2017

~Length: 79 pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fairy-Tale Retelling


A book for all Beauty and the Beast fans! A contemporary retelling viewed through the eyes of a teenager. Sixteen year old Megan wants to be a doctor. When Megan volunteers at a residential home she meets Lady. Lady tells a fragmented and confusing story of a duke who never aged; his fate tied to the roses that grew in his garden. As Megan hears more of Lady’s tale she is intrigued to know whether the duke existed or if he is a figment of Lady’s imagination. As Megan embarks on unravelling the mystery of the beast a hidden family secret emerges... will it shatter her life forever?

"Beyond the Vale" by Kerry Alan Denney!

Hiya peeps! There's a new release for all you fantasy lovers out there, who enjoy stories of the beyond! Check out this after-death tale, and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments below! Do you believe in life after death?

Beyond the Vale

 Beyond the Vale
~Author: Kerry Alan Denney

~Released: December 23rd 2017

~Length: 285 Pages

~Genres: Adult Fiction


There's no rest for the weary in the afterlife: We all must earn our passage to the next world -- or pay the ultimate price.

Logan Leonard comes to his senses with his memory full of holes, and a half-familiar woman asks him if he remembers how and why he died. She tells him he must earn his passage to the next level, leads him through doorways to impossible places with surreal landscapes and bizarre inhabitants, and sends him into pictures that are portals to his past. Logan meets his spirit guide in the form of a friendly dog, finds and then loses the woman of his dreams, and battles a madman who has enslaved the entire populace of the afterlife world.

Then shadows come to claim Logan, and suddenly the stakes are his own immortal soul--and the souls of everyone he loves. All he has to do to earn his passage is rescue the woman of his dreams, defeat the shadows and their master, and correct the mistakes he made that ruined his life. If he fails, everyone will burn.

Because the punishment for failure is a one-way ticket to Hell.

Friday, December 22, 2017

"Arklight" by J.M. Myrick!

Hiya peeps! I'm super stoked to share this book with you, because I just loved it! It's been a while since I found a book I truly fell in love with, but this one was awesome!

Check out my review, and be sure to add it to your reading lists - you won't want to miss this one! =D

Arklight

Operation Nightfall

Arklight
~Author: J.M. Myrick

~Released: October 4th 2017

~Length: 266 Pages

~Genres: Historical, Christian, Adventure, Conspiracy


The United States’ most formidable secret unit impacts the past creating a line through history, revealing that God exists independent of time. Seventy-three years after World War II, while on a mission to capture the world’s most wanted terrorist, Arklight’s Spear Team, led by genius historian Navy SEAL Captain John Steadman, discovers a remarkable Nazi conspiracy. Through a supernatural phenomenon, the small Arklight team teleports to 1943 Bizerte, Tunisia, one day into the allied assault on the city. The team’s interactions with a group of Navy Raiders in World War II lead them to discover the Nazi plans for an atomic bomb and a weapon of Christ, known as the Titulus Crucis. 

The Navy Raiders discover a powerful truth through faith, which binds them to America’s most modern and formidable warriors conceived to date. Historical figure Ensign John Bell and his small band of Raiders soon experience Arklight’s ability to wage all out warfare against the Nazi death-machine. In 1943, Hitler’s hope to rule the world stands on the fringe of reality, but the Arklight team’s encounter with a powerful force enables them a chance to alter destiny itself. The coveted mysteries of Christ are unveiled, and the team soon discovers the forces of darkness have a larger more ominous plan in play.