Wednesday, November 22, 2017

"The Infinity Gene" by Sue Wyshynski!

 Book Tour!

Hiya peeps! I'm participating in a review tour today, for the second book in a great sci-fi series! Check out my review from yesterday of the first book if you'd like, before you read this one, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

"Permanent Happiness" by Iyabo Ojikutu!

Hiya peeps! As I'm sure you know, I don't tend to review self-help books. In fact, I don't read them. Like, ever. When the request for this one came in though, it sounded interesting, especially for the time of year. I figured some of you may be able to find help from it, so decided to give it a whirl! Check out my review below, and let me know what you think of it in the comments below!

Permanent Happiness: The Only Way to Find Peace, Joy and your Life-Given Purpose

 Permanent Happiness
~AuthorIyabo Ojikutu

~Released: May 24th, 2017

~Length: 218 Pages

~Genres: Nonfiction, Spirituality, Self Help



“Another book about happiness?” What does this one have to say that we all have not heard before? And is happiness really an achievable state of being? 

We never stop craving happiness. It is the world’s most sought-after feeling and emotion. As we wake up each morning, we do so hoping to find happiness in all that we experience, whether we are consciously aware of this desire or not. 

We do, of course, find happiness at different points and phases in our lives. The problem is, this situational happiness tends to be short lived. We are happy for a few days and then fall back into anxiety, sadness, and/or worry. 

Permanent Happiness outlines three easy steps to pursuing permanent happiness. It tackles key life situations we encounter during our daily living and shows how to pursue peace and be positive influencers on those around us. When our lives are in balance, we discover we let go of the stress and worry that arise when life throws us curveballs. 

Get ready to be challenged and inspired. More importantly, get ready to learn about and understand permanent happiness and peace from a different perspective! 



 Iyabo Ojikutu
A pediatrician in Atlanta, I’ve dedicated my medical career to caring for children and to teaching medical students. In December 2015, two months after my father passed, I was suddenly inspired to start writing and completed my first book in February 2016. I discovered the beauty and peace writing brought me, and I haven't stopped since. I'm currently writing my third book and continuing my journey for permanent happiness—peace.

I was born in Lagos, Nigeria. Upon graduating from secondary school, I entered medical school at age 16. After completing my medical degree and internship at 23 years old, I left for England, where I practiced as a pediatrician for four years. In 1998 I moved to the United States, completed residency in the Bronx, New York, and then relocated to Atlanta in 2001.

I opened my pediatric practice in 2004, and this is still serving the community. I live in Atlanta with my two daughters, 19 and 13 years old.


~ Connect with Iyabo Online ~






"Peace is permanent happiness.
Happiness is good, but is not enough. Peace is good, and is enough."


The first couple sentences are, alone, profound. They not only give you several things to think about, but a clear idea of what the rest of the pages contain. Peace and happiness are things everyone basically hopes to achieve someday in their lives, right?

In this book, Dr. Ojikutu writes clearly, as she explains her ideas on how to achieve both. While the ideas seem somewhat echoed from other self-help authors and "gurus" of personal health, her way of writing about each area is simple, and said in ways I'd certainly never heard before. At several points, I found myself simply staring into space, pondering the things she'd written, feeling more at peace simply for having processed the suggested outlook and mentality.

Instead of a book filled with personal anecdotes and stories that rarely apply to many other people, as most of the books in this genre seem to feature, this book focuses more on the goal of achieving those first two lines. It stays on point, focuses on the reader, and connects each area of an individual's life, in a way that makes it clear how to become balanced, and peaceful, therefore achieving happiness. Even for those who believe they are happy, there are probably things you could gain from this, that would flip your mentality a bit, and improve your current state of being.

I'm honestly not one for self-help literature. They've never been my area of interest, and aside from "Chicken Noodle Soup for the Soul" when I was in high school, I've never looked into reading one out of personal desire. When approached to review this one, I was skeptical, but thought it may be beneficial to others who enjoy the genre, therefore worthwhile. I am glad I agreed, because it's given me a bit to think about, and a new way of looking at my own personal health, in ways I didn't realize I needed to. I am thankful to have had the opportunity to experience this book, and definitely recommend it to anyone seeking peace, happiness, and general balance to the hectic, chaotic mess we call life.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Be sure to let me know what you think of this book in the comments below! Do you read self-help books?

Thanks for visiting!
Have a great day! =D



"The Butterfly Code" by Sue Wyshynski!

Hiya peeps! So, I'm participating in a review tour for The Butterfly Code tomorrow, but I hadn't read the first book yet. I have to read that one anyway, so figured, why not review it too? Not a requested review, but a lot of fun, an necessary for the book I signed up to review.

So, check that out below, then get ready for the review and giveaway for the sequel tomorrow!

The Butterfly CodeGirl On Fire, #1


 The Butterfly Code
~Released: October 15th 2015

~Publisher: Whitman Books

~Length: 346 Pages

~Genres: Sci-Fi, Paranormal, Young Adult


My name is Aeris Thorne. I am a genetically modified human. 

PAINFUL SECRETS. 
STARTLING TRUTHS.
UNDENIABLE LOVE.

All it took was a chance meeting--one tingling glance across a darkened street to change my life.

I'd been searching for my two best friends in the crowded Zenith Club, which was a really bad idea because I'm totally claustrophobic. 

I burst outside, and that's when I came face-to-face with the incredibly gorgeous Hunter Cayman. Dark-haired, tall, and leaning against an insane sports car, my pulse went haywire. Maybe things weren't so bad after all. The young doctor had his long muscular arms crossed over his leather jacket clad chest, and all his six-foot something would make any girl's knees turn weak. But then, if what Ella said was true, Hunter was the kind of guy who left behind a trail of broken hearts. And heartache was the last thing I needed right now.

Yet there's something strange, something almost superhuman about Hunter. It's more than that infuriatingly knowing grin. I'm trying to stop thinking about him, and I get the feeling he's avoiding me, too. Yet Deep Cove is a tiny town and every time we run into each other the tension literally crackles, sparking around us. It just figures that when suddenly I'm in danger, he's there to save me.



In truth, I should be dead. By all the logic in this world, I should be shattered to pieces. How fast was I going on that ATV when I smashed into those iron gates? Ninety? A hundred? And the men who were chasing me, where did they go?

Somehow I'm whole.

Maybe better than whole. 

There's no one I can talk to, not even my best friend, Gage. Gage hates Hunter. He wants Hunter's laboratory to be shut down. He thinks Hunter's a monster. And yet, if that's true, if Hunter's a monster...than what am I? I'm not sure what terrifies me more, the metamorphosis taking place inside me, or the intensely powerful connection with a guy whose heart and soul has become linked with mine.

Monday, November 20, 2017

"Catch Me If You Can" by Miss Mae!

 Audiobook Tour



Sunday, November 19, 2017

"The Final Year Project" by Mehana Usha Rani!

Hiya peeps! I've got a new release to share with you today, fitting for college students and fans of college-age drama stories.

Check it out, and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments below!

The Final Year Project


 The Final Year Project
~Released: November 29th, 2017

~Genres: New Adult, Young Adult, College, Contemporary, Drama


Om Prakash, a senior at Amra College of Technology, is getting ready to spend his final year with his friends, Vikram, Sid and Dev. They want to do something special to commemorate their last year but with no plans yet, they attend the Freshers’ Day Inauguration Ceremony.

Enter Sara, the class topper of the freshers batch who looks as perfect as her test scores. Om is instantly smitten. With that, Vikram announces their final year project: Om ♥ Sara. Om has no objections.

But Sara does.

Unamused by their harassment and hell-bent on revenge, Sara infiltrates their all-male Boxing Club joining as their team manager. Om tries hard to keep peace amongst the team; struggling to hide his affection for her while his friends suffer under her leadership. But when a ghost from the past comes back to haunt the boys, Om finds reason to believe Sara joining the club might have nothing to do with what happened at the ceremony. The very friends he’s trying so hard to protect have secrets of their own. And it’s up to Om to dig deeper before someone gets hurt. 


 About the Author

 Mehana Usha Rani
Born and raised in sunny Singapore, Mehana Usha Rani is an alter ego residing in the mind of a 23-year-old.

Despite holding a degree in Economics, Rani has a special interest in writing all things noneconomic and is set to publish her debut novel, The Final Year Project, by the end of 2017.

~ Connect with Mehana Online ~



3 1/2 Roses

PG-17

Drama meets danger, settled in the boxing ring.

College is a place of jokes and drama for this group of friends. With a sassy chick giving a group of guys a hard time, you're bound to run into some laughs, drama, and a few fights. While Om tries to keep the peace between his crush and his prankster friends, secrets break free of their shadows, turning the little group into a mess.

While this particular style of novel isn't my personal taste, it wasn't bad. Written in a way most college students tend to act and think, it would be fitting for readers of that nature. From the first paragraphs, you get a taste of the drama that drips from nearly every page. High in emotion and energy, the whole story ends up being quite exhausting, even though it's not all that long.

I like the way the chapters were set up, breaking up the story by semesters, which fit the setting. The writing style is very bullet point written, as each new emotion and reaction is listed and pointed out. Set up almost as a screenplay with play-by-play movements and reactions, detailing each character in a somewhat detached sort of style. While it wasn't bad, it isn't my particular taste, and I had a difficult time really getting into the story.

Overall, this book wasn't bad, by any means. I think it holds a lot of appeal for many readers, and could easily grow to have a large following of fans and satisfied readers. If it sounds like your cup of tea, give it a shot. There is a bit of language throughout both the dialogue and narrative, which would be my only warning. If that doesn't bother you, hopefully you'll enjoy it!

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Let me know what you think of this book, in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting!

Have a great day! =D



Friday, November 17, 2017

"Wolves and Roses" Audiobook Review!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I have an audiobook review for a book I read and reviewed last week. Check it out, because this book, in any format, rocks!

Be sure to enter the giveaway below for the chance to win a beautiful treasure box!

Thursday, November 16, 2017

2 Self-Help Books for Christians

Hiya peeps! I have some different kind of books for you today, that seem fitting for the upcoming season. I am a Christian, and although I rarely read self-help books (other than the Bible, haha), I thought it may be helpful to share these today. Who knows, they may help someone! Check out Why Many Christians Will Miss Heaven and Biblical Steps To Dealing With The Jilt of Your Lover.