Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Blog Update

Hiya peeps! I've got a blog post update for you all, and I'm excited!


When I started Desert Rose Reviews, I hadn't intended for it to be a book blog. I just wanted to share my reviews of stuff, as suggested by a friend to help boost my confidence, and get me out of my shell a bit. 


I had set it up to review everything, not necessarily to be book focused. When I stared it though, I had recently re-discovered my love for books, and was spending most of my time reading. Therefore, my posts were about reviewing books.


I adore this blog, and it's going to keep going! However, I am making some changes.

I'm ready to expand the kinds of reviews I post though, and still want to use this blog to do that. I want to review books, movies, music, food, places, jewelry, clothes, products - anything I can!


Still, I do adore books. They are a huge part of my life, and I love promoting books and authors! So, I've made a second blog, that is specifically a book blog! I'm so stoked!!

Desert Rose Word Candy

 Desert Rose Word Candy

I hope you'll follow that blog and keep up with my book posts. It'll basically be the same stuff I post here, but even more, as I'd like to delve further into the book world...again.


I do hope you'll stick around here though, especially if you have multiple interests, like I do! I'll be reviewing a bunch of stuff, and sharing them all right here.


Thanks a ton for your support, and I hope to see you in future posts! =D

Ciao for now,

~Rose
@Desert Rose



Monday, August 21, 2017

"Masked" by J.D. Wright!

 Book Blitz!

Hiya peeps! Check out this awesome book!

Masked

Superheroes Undercover, #1

 Masked
~Published: August 15th, 2017

~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Genres: Paranormal, Superheroes, Young Adult


Vada’s To-Do List:
– Turn 18 (check!)
– Register super name
– Order supersuit
– Attend superhero indoctrination
– Graduate high school
– Start kicking criminal tail

Vada Lawson can’t wait to be a superhero. Born into a family with special powers, she’s been training to fight criminals and villains her whole life. But her indoctrination into the underground super community is derailed when normals start breaking out in superpowers themselves.

Not trained to control their new abilities, the normals are frightened and vulnerable. Then their mutilated corpses begin turning up all over town. What the heck?

Somehow, with the help—and hindrance—of an annoying newly-minted super named Orion, Vada has to stop the chaos before it destroys her and everything she holds dear…and ruins her superhero debut.

Friday, August 18, 2017

"Dream Frequency" by S.J. Lomas!


Hiya peeps! I've got a sequel to share with you today.

I shared the first book in the series (Dream Girl), including a Top Ten post of too listened to songs by the author, a couple years ago. Now, the sequel is finally released, and I'm excited to share it with you today!


Dream Frequency

 Dream Frequency
~Released: June 30th, 2017

~Length: 413 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


Christine would never have considered herself new recruit material for a secret U.S. agency. Until recently, she's just been an ordinary girl graduating from high school and wondering if a friendship with Gabriel, a mysterious coworker, would grow into something romantic. When Christine's fascination with Gabriel leads to her discovery of dreamworlds, she learns that she's anything but ordinary. In this thrilling conclusion to Dream Girl, Christine and Gabriel must choose their allegiances and face corruption, conspiracy, and the complexities of love in order to save themselves and everyone who matters to them - or die trying.

"The Unlikeable Demon Hunter" by Deborah Wilde!


Hiya peeps! Check out this new romantic urban fantasy!

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter

Nava Katz #1

 The Unlikeable Demon Hunter
~Published: April 18th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Romance, Urban Fantasy

99¢ for a limited time only!

Bridesmaids meets Buffy with a dash of the seven deadly sins.

The age-old story of what happens when a foul-mouthed, romance impaired heroine with no edit button and a predilection for hot sex is faced with her worst nightmare–a purpose.

Ari Katz is intelligent, driven, and will make an excellent demon hunter once initiated into the Brotherhood of David. However, this book is about his twin Nava: a smart-ass, self-cultivated hot mess, who is thrilled her brother is stuck with all the chosen one crap.

When Nava half-drunkenly interrupts Ari’s induction ceremony, she expects to be chastised. What she doesn’t expect is to take her brother’s place among the–until now–all-male demon hunters. Even worse? Her infuriating leader is former rock star Rohan Mitra.

Too bad Rohan’s exactly what Nava’s always wanted: the perfect bad boy fling with no strings attached, because he may also be the one to bring down her carefully erected emotional shields. That’s as dangerous as all the evil fiends vying for the bragging rights of killing the only female ever chosen for Demon Club.

Odds of survival: eh.

Odds of having a very good time with Rohan before she bites it: much better.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

"Rowan Wood Legends" by Olivia Wildenstein!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this paranormal novel, featuring faeries!

Rowan Wood Legends

(The Lost Clan #2)

 Rowan Wood Legends
~Released: August 14th 2017

~Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Faeries

Lost Clan #1:
Rose Petal Graves

Goodreads
Amazon

SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves. 

On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend. 

Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Shapeshifter Review for "Aranya" by Marc Secchia!

 Aranaya

Hiya peeps! I've got an exciting fantasy adventure to share with you today, and I hope you love it!! Check out the audio excerpt and my review, and be sure to let me know if you're adding this one to your reading piles!

Aranya

Shapeshifter Dragons, Book 1

 Aranya
~Author: Marc Secchia

~Narrator: Siromi Arserio

~Released: April 05, 2015

~Length: 14 hours 33 minutes / 454 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance


Chained to a rock and tossed off a cliff by her boyfriend, Aranya is executed for high treason against the Sylakian Empire. Falling a league into the deadly Cloudlands is not a fate she ever envisaged. But what if she did not die? What if she could spread her wings and fly?

Long ago, Dragons ruled the Island-World above the Cloudlands. But their Human slaves cast off the chains of Dragonish tyranny. Humans spread across the Islands in their flying Dragonships, colonising, building and warring. Now, the all-conquering Sylakians have defeated the last bastion of freedom–the Island-Kingdom of Immadia.

Evil has a new enemy. Aranya, Princess of Immadia. Dragon Shapeshifter.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Shameless Self Promotion!

Hiya peeps! I had a couple of open days this week, so I thought I'd fill one of them with some (very awkward) self promotion!

Becoming an author has been the best experience of my working life thus far. At the same time, it's also the most difficult job I could have picked for myself, as I hate talking about myself, or things I've done.

But! To be an author, you must talk about your books! So, I'm sharing one of my books with you all today. It is perma-FREE on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords! Written to appeal to fans of young adult paranormal adventure, this is the first book in a clean, action-packed series. It is finished for the moment, with all three books available, so you can plow through the story as quickly as you'd like!

Check it out below, and if you do pick up a copy, please leave a review. Thank you! =D

Desi Pere
Swirling Secrets, #1


 Desi Pere
~Released: February 2nd, 2016

~Length: 444 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Supernatural, Adventure

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Magnhild, is a freak. From her name, right down to her naturally bizarre visage - she's an odd duck.

Her life has taken a swirling plunge into the drain the past few months, but it's nothing compared to what's coming. All she wants is to finish school, and start over somewhere fun. 

Fate, has other plans. 

Enter the Desi Pere underground organization, and three of it's loyal members. They've enlisted Magnhild's cooperation, whether she likes it or not. They mean to exploit her superhuman gifts - secrets she didn't think anyone knew about. The bait: reuniting her with her mother…who's supposed to be dead.

Overnight, she's dragged into a hidden world - and a war - the normal world knows nothing about. 

Danger, confusion, deception, and self-loathing fog each decision Magnhild faces. She desperately hopes to find her mother, and bring meaning to her past of abuse and isolation. Will she see through the web society has spun around her, or fall captive to century-old lies? In her search for the truth, she discovers she cannot find what she seeks, without first accepting herself, finding her inner strength, and embracing her bizarre life...


Praise for Desi Pere


"Entertaining, quirky, creative, and adventurous - this book is a lot of fun. ... This novel is an 'X-Men meets Dr. Evil' kind of young adult paranormal adventure." An Amazon Customer

"Very poignant and a page turner!!" Amazon Customer

"This is one of those books you can't put down!" Amazon Customer

"I definitely recommend for fans of young adult paranormal." Author Jessica Frances



Add to Goodreads!

Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)
Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)



Thanks a bunch for visiting, and be sure to let me know if you pick up a copy! =D